NFA Council

At the heart of the NFA is the Council and its Committees. With a maximum number permitted by the Rules of thirty, the Council typically comprises around twenty persons elected by the membership plus the officers of the Association. Co-options to Council can take place between AGMs. Committees are not drawn entirely from the Council. Members have a wide range of knowledge and expertise. They are also often involved with other relevant and influential organisations. They represent many viewpoints about the New Forest but they are united in their commitment to the objects of the Association.

Council Members (in alphabetical order)

Mark Abbott
Lyndhurst Parish councillor for 30+ years ( Chairman 9 years ); Member, New Forest Consultative Panel; Chairman, Lyndhurst PC Planning Committee.

Bernie Austin

Graham Baker: Vice Chairman
Former Chairman of the Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE) New Forest District Group (DG).

Geoff Barnes

Emma Blake
Former journalist, advertising copywriter and events coordinator. Currently Marketing Executive for Moviola mobile cinema company.

Maureen Bromley-Smith
Former education business partnership manager.

Clive Chatters
Wildlife Trust officer and former member of the National Park Authority (Chairman 2006-2010). Naturalist and author.

Michael Chilcott
Emery Down
Former Hon. Secretary of NFA; Former Chairman of CPRE New Forest DG; past local District and Parish councillor; Member, New Forest Consultative Panel.

Jonathan Cox
Freelance ecologist and nature conservation adviser, author of several English Nature publications.

Roly Errington
Member, New Forest Consultative Panel; Trustee, New Forest Ninth Centenary Trust; Member, NPA Western Escarpment Conservation Area Steering Group; Member, New Forest National Trust Advisory Board; Member, HCC liaison committees for Cemex and Tarmac mineral operations in the Avon Valley; Member, Association of Local Councils of the New Forest; Member, NFDC Blashford Lakes Forum / Access Group.

Oliver Crosthwaite Eyre: President
Former Official Verderer; Member, New Forest National Park Authority; Vice Chairman, New Forest Trust; Trustee, New Forest Ninth Centenary Trust; Deputy Lieutenant of Hampshire.

Brandy Gill: Hon. Treasurer

Eve Gillmon
Hale Purlieu
Parish Councillor; J.P.

Gale Gould

Dr Keith Howe
Exeter University

David Humbert
New Forest Show Committee Member.

Graham Long
Natural history generalist, particularly focusing on molluscs. Trained as a chartered surveyor; became a Congregational Church minister; retired and is a Guardian Country Diary contributor.

Dionis Macnair
Verderer; Practising Commoner; past Hon. Sec.(34 years) and present Council member , New Forest Pony and Cattle Breeding Society; Member, Pony Publicity Group; New Forest representative, BHS Breeds Committee.

Anne Millar
Past Master and Secretary, New Forest Buckhounds; past joint Master, New Forest Foxhounds; Member, New Forest Consultative Panel; past President New Forest Pony and Cattle Breeding Society; Vice President, New Forest Agricultural Show Society.

Bob Morris
Retired NPA member who lead on education.

Leo Randall
Retired lecturer, NPA member and former planning committee chairman.

Richard Reeves
Librarian at the Christopher Tower Library, Lyndhurst; Local Historian; member, New Forest Consultative Panel; committee member, New Forest History and Archaeology Group.

Neil Sanderson
Freelance Ecologist and leading Lichenologist.

Brian Ross Tarnoff
Freelance writer and novelist; volunteer, Forestry Commission Two Trees Conservation Team; volunteer, Hampshire County Council's Discovering Hampshire's Lost Ways.

Jenni Tubbs
Member Land Management Committee; New Forest FOE representative, NF Consultative Panel; member Conservation Committee, Hampshire & IW Wildlife Trust; monitoring breeding raptors, breeding success of brent geese (and other species occasionally); former officer of the Nature Conservancy Council.

John Ward: Chairman
Former Director of Planning at the New Forest NPA; Former New Forest Committee Member; Chairman of Friend of St Barbe Museum.

William Ziegler
Former Chairman, NFA; Trustee and Secretary of New Forest Trust; Member New Forest National Trust Advisory Committee.